On Twitter? Best #HigherEd Journalists To Follow

When once we used card catalogs and encyclopedias to look up information, we now use social media to collect and consume news. Micro communities have been formed as a result of the evolution of these sites to connect and communicate.

Twitter, for example, has a growing population of higher education administrators, journalists, education reporters, and higher ed associations. We have compiled a list of the best education (K-12) and higher education journalists to follow on Twitter. Whether you are a public relations specialist, higher education administrator, traditional college student or even an online college student, these Twitter accounts will provide up-to-the minute news and helpful resources on all things higher education, college, ed tech, and beyond.

Phil Baty @Phil_Baty
Editor at Large for Times Higher Education @timeshighered & Editor of the World University Rankings @theworldunirank.

Jessica Shepherd ‏ @jessshepherd1
Education journalist at the Guardian

Ray Parker @goodeducation
Arizona Republic education reporter; find him at ray.parker@arizonarepublic.com

Serena Golden @SerenaEGolden
Associate editor @insidehighered, Serena Golden shares insider news on higher education. Find her at serena.golden (at) insidehighered.com

Kerry Benefield @Benefield
Covering education and schools in Sonoma County, California,

Howard Blume @howardblume
L.A. Times education reporter, Howard Blume covers all thing #edu in the LA area and beyond.

Nanette Asimov @NanetteAsimov
Higher Education Reporter, San Francisco Chronicle / SFGate.comm, Nanette is a seasoned education journalist.

Tanya Roscorla @reportertanya
Education reporter for Converge Magazine, a leading ed tech and higher education publication

Jodi Cohen @higherednews
Higher education reporter for the Chicago Tribune.

Andy Gammill @AndyGammill
Education reporter for the Indianapolis Star. Find his work at http://blogs.indystar.com/education/

Liz Bowie @lizbowie
Education reporter for The Baltimore Sun. Find her posts here: http://www.baltimoresun.com/news/maryland/education/blog/

Jenna Ross @ByJenna
Higher education reporter for the Star Tribune in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Alexander Russo @alexanderrusso
This Brooklyn-based freelance education writer used to be a Hill staffer.

Holly Hacker @hollyhacker
Holly covers higher education at The Dallas Morning News, plus some K-12 for good measure.

Lindsay Kastner @lkastner
Lindsey is the education reporter at the San Antonio Express-News. Read her stories at http://blog.mysanantonio.com/rickshawchronicles/

Libby Quaid @lquaid
AP education writer Libby Quaid offers the top education stories from around the nation.

Erica Perez @ericafperez
Erica is the hgher education reporter for California Watch. Her education tweets are investigative and news-driven in nature.

Jeff Selingo @jselingo
Blogger, writer, speaker on future of higher ed. Editorial Director of The Chronicle of Higher Education. Author ‘College (Un)Bound,’ coming in 2013.

Ian Wilhelm @ianwilhelm
Associate editor of global news for The Chronicle of Higher Education. Interested in study abroad, faculty exchange, and universities’ role in foreign aid.

Jenna Johnson  @wpjenna
Washington Post higher ed reporter and Campus Overload blogger Jenna Johnson stays on the pulse with current events and higher ed news.

[ More on online schools...]

 

Are we missing any higher education journalists? If so, send us an email at gotocollegeonline@gmail.com.

About Allison Freeland

Allie Freeland is the Editor-in-Chief of CollegeOnline.org. She has been a professional writer for a decade and received her bachelor's degree in Journalism from the University of Minnesota. She brings a wealth of information about higher education, online degrees, college life, and career advice. Follow her on G+.